The Gift of Clean

Don’t you love the feeling of a clean home? I’m all for sand at the beach — but I don’t want it on my kitchen floor. I love the occasional hand print to remind me of the lovely little people in my life — but fingerprints on every door start to get to me. There’s not much for me that beats the feeling of a clean home.
hands holding apple by sisterlisa, on Pix-O-Sphere
And there’s not much that says, “I appreciate you” like an offer to help me deep clean my house.

YES! It actually happened.

There’s a friend* who gave me two hours of her time last week. Two hours. As in, we set the timer, started on the top floor, and worked our way down. I cleaned walls and baseboards while she vacuumed. That machine was humming for two hours straight. And, folks, this house has never been cleaner since we moved in over six years ago.

Her offer forced me to finally deal with clutter that I’ve ignored all year. I could have put it off even longer– I’m good at that. I needed help, and she gave it gladly. That’s friendship in my book.

And when she left, I sipped a cup of tea in my clean living room. And I cried a few happy tears.

Thank you, friend!
IMG_0186 by ekhum, on Pix-O-Sphere

*The identity of this friend has been kept secret. She has no plans to start a house-cleaning service!

About Heidi

I'm a pastor's wife, striving to live generously. I'm also a homeschooling, gardening, knitting, cooking, reading mom.
This entry was posted in simplicity. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Gift of Clean

  1. Jodi says:

    Very sweet! What a blessing friends are!

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

