Blueprint for a Rainy Day

#BetterWriter

Today’s challenge was to write about this photo. I’m linking to it, since I don’t have permission to use it here. Go ahead and check it out so you’ll understand the story. I’ll still be here when you get back!

I’m glad for the job; don’t get me wrong. I know I’m lucky to even have a job these days, even if I am just barely scrapping by. I mean, I know blue-collar work is nothing shameful. I work hard every day; it’s honest money.

Still, I can’t help but sing the blues on a drizzly day like today. Seems like everything about me is monotonous: boring job, faded thrift store clothes, drab apartment.

Hah! That drab apartment isn’t going to last long either. Not with all these new blue-bloods moving in. I mean, these were houses that belonged to regular folk – people who would give you the time of day. Now these uppity rich people are moving in and “improving” the neighborhood, painting their houses all pansy-purple and pumpkin-orange and peacock-blue. And they can look right through me, not even notice I exist. I swear, I could walk right up, ring the bell, talk a blue streak to that lady, and she wouldn’t remember me by dinnertime.

About Heidi

I'm a pastor's wife, striving to live generously. I'm also a homeschooling, gardening, knitting, cooking, reading mom.
This entry was posted in writing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Blueprint for a Rainy Day

  1. conniethedaisyhead says:

    I just jumped in on the 31 Days last night. Now I’m trying to catch up. I loved your story! Of course now it will be more challenging to dream up a different story line after reading yours.

    Hope to see you in the Facebook group!

    • Heidi says:

      I’m so behind with 31 Days… but I figure any effort I put in is better than nothing. Some assignments have really captured my imagination, so I’m putting my work in there. I don’t know if I’ll try to catch up or just enjoy the ride!

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

