New Years resolution

I’m not usually one to make resolutions. I fail at them. I feel guilty. I don’t like to feel guilty. Therefore… I’m not usually one to make resolutions.

But I do tend to start each new year with a vague wish to get rid of clutter and have a cleaner, more organized house. And to be a nicer person. And I guess each year the clutter situation gets better, but it’s happening slowly.

So I decided this is going to be the year of Getting Results. Now.

Thus: I will give away seven things every day this year.

About Heidi

I'm a pastor's wife, striving to live generously. I'm also a homeschooling, gardening, knitting, cooking, reading mom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to New Years resolution

  1. Pingback: Six Months Later | Give Away Seven a Day

  2. Pingback: The Most Precious Giveaway | Give Away Seven a Day

  3. Mediocre Mom says:

    I’m totally stealing this idea. I loathe clutter. We go through toys at every birthday and Christmas to find things to ship off to Good Will, or sell in our church’s tag sale. But the clutter still creeps up. I love that 7 items a day is so completely possible. It’s not overwhelming, like, “Today, I’m going to organize the whole basement.” I’ve tried, and I never get past the stairs. Thanks for the inspiration!

    • Heidi says:

      I’m happy to have inspired you! I’m exactly the same way… a little at a time works for me without overwhelming me. And a plus– it has inspired some bigger projects for my husband, who’s the “organize the whole basement NOW” type. 🙂 I guess my 7 a day has made enough breathing room that he feels like he can accomplish bigger things.

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

