Simplify the Wardrobe, part 1 of probably 100

Colorful!

Wouldn’t it be nice to have all my clothes hung up in the closet or folded neatly in my drawers?

That’s what I thought while finding ‘7’ one day last week. I was standing in my bedroom wondering what to give away when the realization hit like a bolt of lightning: most people don’t keep their clothes in stacks on the floor. Amazing. Stunning. Yet true.

After standing there dazed by a revelation that is a way of life for most people, I sat myself down next to the tallest stack. I grabbed 7 ill-fitting shirts and sweaters from the untouched bottom of said stack, stuffed them into a Goodwill bag, and ran out, never looking back. OK, I did look back. Just to see the wonderful change my efforts had made.

Nothing. No change whatsoever that I could see.

Can you say deflating? I can. On the other hand (for I’m an optimist), I’m making a point of wearing only things out of the closet and drawers. So if I wash something and want to wear it again, I have to make it fit where it BELONGS. It’s getting easier to recognize the riff-raff amongst the wardrobe staples.

Progress, people! 🙂

About Heidi

I'm a pastor's wife, striving to live generously. I'm also a homeschooling, gardening, knitting, cooking, reading mom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

