Why Are You Doing This?

Where did I get this idea to give things away, you ask? Well, I woke up thinking about the idea one morning… definitely under the influence of Flylady and a certain Creative Friend.

Flylady. If you know who she is, you either love her or hate her. (And if you don’t know her, check out her website, flylady.net. She describes herself better than I can.) She exists to encourage/nag/teach people how to have clean, inviting homes that are ready for company at a moment’s notice. I’ve been sort of fluttering along with her for a long time now… with occasional hopeful moments, but mostly surrounded by lots of stuff.  She insists that it’s impossible to clean clutter… a fact that I’ve been denying since I was introduced to Flylady several years ago. Her motto for this year has something to do with the number seven.

So I guess the number seven and the getting rid of junk gelled in my mind while I was sleeping, and I woke up with The Plan.

Then I spilled the beans to Creative Friend, who can take any mundane idea and turn it into a business opportunity or a book. You should see it in action sometime. It’s pretty amazing. So I gave her a friend-sized loaf of pumpkin bread (it helps the creatjve process), told her my plan, and she said something like, “You have to write a book! That’s a great idea! Nobody’s written that yet… everybody wants that… those books are all over the library shelves!!”

Yeah, yeah. Book? Probably not. But I figured I could at least keep track of what happens around here in the year of living lighter and more generously.

Also, I’m totally baking more bread for my friends.

About Heidi

I'm a pastor's wife, striving to live generously. I'm also a homeschooling, gardening, knitting, cooking, reading mom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

