When No One’s Looking

We’re a homeschooling family.

I, of course, have no idea what other moms of preschoolers do during school hours, but here’s what I imagine:  I see you saying good-bye to finger paintings, collages, sculptures, and itty-bitty-hazardous-to-feet toys in a quiet house. Then I imagine you not being sure what to do with the hours until your small one comes home. This is followed by collecting your small one from school and living a life that looks a lot like mine for the rest of the day. Except with fewer “MOM, you CAN’T throw that away” items sitting around your house.

(You’re laughing, aren’t you?)

But let me tell you that I’m jealous of my imagined You. Not because I don’t love being with my kids… I absolutely do. Not because I wish we weren’t home schoolers… I wouldn’t have it any other way. But because I can’t sneak stuff into the garbage without careful planning.

But today was a day to be treasured! My kids went outside (thank you, Lord, for spring!) and I got rid of Valentine’s Day, Christmas, Sunday School, and Halloween shrapnel. It was a beautiful thing.

I may even be ready to face the fingerpaints again.

About Heidi

I'm a pastor's wife, striving to live generously. I'm also a homeschooling, gardening, knitting, cooking, reading mom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

