Dirty Foreheads and Thoughts on Fasting

Ashes imposed on the forehead of a Christian o...

Image via Wikipedia

It’s Ash Wednesday, my forehead is dirty, and I heard this in worship today:
“Do not lay up for yourselves treasures on earth… but lay up for yourselves treasures in heaven.” Matthew 6

I won’t be giving up anything this  Lent, although fasting is a fine discipline. I just didn’t think of any specific thing to fast from this year.

But I’ll be paying attention.

I’ve noticed that while I’ve been busy choosing seven things to give away each day, God’s been busy with me. Making me more aware of other people: making me look for ways to help, making me want to invite them in, and making me want to pray.

So I’ll be paying attention to the things I give away and the folks I’m reminded of in the process.

Not fasting, but I’ll be watching. And I can’t wait to see what’s in store.

About Heidi

I'm a pastor's wife, striving to live generously. I'm also a homeschooling, gardening, knitting, cooking, reading mom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

