Give=Love

I suppose my Personal Project of the Year has made me more attentive than I was before. I perk up my ears when I hear the word ‘give’. And during Holy Week I’ve had plenty of opportunity for perky ears. Here’s a major example:

John 19:30 “Jesus said, ‘It is finished,’ and he bowed his head and gave up his spirit.”

Gave up? Well, why haven’t I noticed that before?? No one killed Jesus. Crucified him, yes; but his life was given, not taken.

And take a look at Jesus, washing his disciples’ feet and telling them:

John 13:34 “A new commandment I give to you, that you love one another: just as I have loved you, you also are to love one another.”

Kind of takes the Golden Rule and kicks it up a notch, don’t you think? And my daily ritual of searching my attic, basement, dusty closet corners for things to give away pales in comparison once again… but I’m sticking with it. It’s so worth it to have perky ears.

About Heidi

I'm a pastor's wife, striving to live generously. I'm also a homeschooling, gardening, knitting, cooking, reading mom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

