Giving Diapers

DSC_9533

Image by ACoolDryPlace via Flickr

Oh, the wonderful freedom of having kids who no longer need diapers!

And, oh, how I loved cloth-diapering my babies. I loved everything about it. (Everything I’ve allowed myself to remember, that is. I repressed all memories of the ‘ick’ factor.) But the cuteness of a puffy baby tush… the freedom of never running out of diapers in the middle of the night… the freshness of clean white diapers coming out of the dryer… ah, love!

The challenge of finding the perfect diaper for night-time, or travel time, or fancy-occasion time… it’s a quest cloth-diapering moms know well. I loved the thrill of having my favorite diaper at the top of the stack at changing time. I loved the rugged durability of our trusty prefolds. The first article of clothing I learned to knit was a wool diaper cover. SUCH an accomplishment, and it was the best cover in our stash.

Those diapers are Fluffy Goodness with Memories attached… so how could I possibly just take them to the thrift store? (I couldn’t. That’s the answer.) They need to go to a HOME. So I was glad to learn of a new organization called ‘Giving Diapers, Giving Hope’. They give diapers at no cost to low-income families. Now THAT’s worth a little postage on my end. I’m filling a box today.

Want to send some of your diaper stash? Here’s their email for more info:  givingdiapersgivinghope@gmail.com

Share the cottony love!

About Heidi

I'm a pastor's wife, striving to live generously. I'm also a homeschooling, gardening, knitting, cooking, reading mom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Giving Diapers

  1. I love cloth diapering too. I am glad to find a comrad in this. 🙂 I still have one in diapers. My very favorite diapers started wicking badly and I had to give them away. It was a sad day for me, since three of my kids were diapered in those cute things. The ones I am using now are not as fun as those others were. I like them all right, but don’t love them like I did the others.

    • Heidi says:

      What were your favorites? I loved Fuzzi Bunz or good sturdy prefolds with a cover. Isn’t it funny how you look forward to certain diapers being clean? LOL!

  2. Aimee says:

    Hello!
    I myself have never try’d or used these kind of diapers, but I spend and spend and spend and waist even more money than I EVER could of dreamed of!!! also My son is 2 1/2 now and should of, well I hoped anyway been potty trained by now. He’s not ready yet or even seems to be interested in it!! Oh man am I so tired of the diapers!! the wetting the bed sometimes still at night, when he use to call for mommy to change his full diaper before that point, but now he doesnt even do that! So to say the least I am willing to try some thing new who knows maybe he’ll like them better or he wont and it will push him to the potty!! I can only hope and pray!! 🙂

    • Heidi says:

      For what it’s worth, potty training was never a quick or easy process for my kids. The third one was easiest, but that may have been just because I was less worried about it. It happens eventually, though… every time! Keep hoping!

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

