D is for Dad!

We’re a homeschooling family.

There are millions of little reasons I’m glad we are, but none of those influenced our choice in the beginning. Would you like the know the big thing that put us over the edge? What made us realize it was worth a try?

It was The Dad.

My husband is a pastor. Which means he might be called to work at any time of day or night. It also means he’ll definitely be expected to work on weekends. Every weekend. And holidays. Every holiday. And many evenings during the week.

And our children, if they were in school outside our home, would be home (without their dad) for all those times. Weekends, holidays, evenings… would be spent thinking their Dad is too busy to spend time with them.

Dad wanted more time, not less, with his children.

So we took the plunge and gave homeschooling a try. And it worked. We see each other! The kids have a Dad, the wife has a husband… we even eat meals together. Isn’t that nice?

Yay! We love our Dad!



Grab my Button!

About Heidi

I'm a pastor's wife, striving to live generously. I'm also a homeschooling, gardening, knitting, cooking, reading mom.
This entry was posted in Homeschool, lutheran and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to D is for Dad!

  1. Mary says:

    I think homeschooling definitely allows more time with dad! My husband leads a traditional schedule, but if he gets home later in the evenings he can spend time with the kids and we don’t have to worry about early bedtimes, etc… I didn’t even think of “D is for Dad” for my post today. I did dinosaurs. 🙂

    • Heidi says:

      Mary, your dinosaur unit looks so fun! My 4 year old was sitting on my lap when I checked your page… now she has some new books on her library list. 🙂

  2. What a great thing for you as a pastoring family! I hadn’t thought about that before– how having a Pastor Dad might seriously cut into family time, but you’re right. My husband isn’t a pastor, but I also appreciate the fact that we can meet him for lunch, or he may stop home, or get a half day off on Fridays…. and the kids are home when he’s there. It IS a blessing! Thanks for linking up today!

    • Heidi says:

      Having a flexible schedule is a blessing! It’s so nice to have the ability to make ourselves available during regular school hours.

  3. Becky says:

    Yes, dads are an excellent reason for homeschooling! We are a medical family, so dad works early, late, weekends, and on call. It is nice for the kids to be home when dad is home! Awesome!

  4. Joelle says:

    What would we be without dad? We need that time with dad for sure. I am glad this is working out better.

    • Heidi says:

      It’s definitely better! We’ve almost finished our eighth year of homeschooling, and time with him is still one of the greatest blessings.

  5. Pingback: Home School Posts Index | Give Away Seven a Day

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

