E is for Enough

Letter "E" black-n-white

Letter of the Week

I’ve been participating in the ABCs of homeschooling blog hop over at 5 Kids and a Dog. This week’s featured letter is E, which leads me to my biggest homeschooling struggle:

E is for… enough.

Enough, as in, I don’t need to compare myself with other homeschooling moms. Even if they’re amazing and have beautiful blogs with photos of their adorable children and neat and tidy homes and creative projects and wonderful field trips and… and… and…

Because what I’m really comparing myself to is everyone else… not just one homeschooling mom, but a conglomeration of everyone who accomplishes every cool idea on every single blog. And writes a book about it. She’s the Proverbs 31 woman, and then some.

But some imaginary mom isn’t the mom my kids need. They need me. They need me to be here and, yes, to be responsible. To take care of their education and make sure everyone’s learning; to make sure everyone has clean clothes and nutritious food. But they don’t need me to be stressing out about all the things I’m not doing. They need me to do enough.

I don’t need to be Super Mom. I just need to be me. That’s enough.

“My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.”                              2 Corinthians 12:9

http://www.5kidsandadog.com/

About Heidi

I'm a pastor's wife, striving to live generously. I'm also a homeschooling, gardening, knitting, cooking, reading mom.
This entry was posted in Homeschool. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to E is for Enough

  1. Heidi: The comparison trap is so easy to fall into when we homeschool! And reading blogs, you only see a glimpse of a family’s life. We don’t usually show off our laundry piles, our son’s constantly snotty nose, the carpet the dog is methodically ripping up, or our short tempered replies when the kids ask too many questions in too short a span of time. You always have to remember that everyone else has “stuff” going on too, and most of us don’t choose to talk about it on our blogs. It can give a pretty skewed viewpoint to our readers at times. The most important person in our kids’ lives is US, their moms (when it comes to homeschooling), and as long as we are doing the mothering and teaching that we need to be, it just doesn’t matter what everyone else seems to be doing. You are so right on this! Thanks for linking up!

  2. Mary says:

    I love this and can so relate! I have to tell myself all the time to “swim in my own lane” and remind myself it is ok if I don’t do a dozen cute crafts for every holiday!!

    Thanks for stopping by my blog 🙂

  3. Thanks for posting this. I find that I am stressed more by local homeschoolers who want to work through the summer when all I want to do is swim during the summer, or who make their kids sit at a desk all day long. E is for enough. I should post it on my refrigerator. I needed to hear that today.

  4. Heidi says:

    I should post it on MY refrigerator! This is seriously my biggest spiritual struggle. And I know it’s spiritual… because it Does Not Matter what positive comments other people make about me; I still compare and find myself falling short.

    I just need to keep being reminded of God’s perspective on everything: I am clothed in Christ!

    Thanks for commenting!

    • I do this too. I always compare myself to others–homeschoolers and moms I admire. Then I say “well, they are better at this, at that, at the other.” I fall short too. I have been recently trying to remind myself that I have value in Christ–just me as I am. I don’t have to be that other mom to have value. I have value. That has recently been helping me find my footing.

  5. ohangelina says:

    hi heidi, i love this!! so true too….i find there are so many people entertaining the ideas in our heads to compare ourselves to others. ‘waldorf’ gets a strange clicky comparison, unfortunately. you dont always have to fit inside somebody elses box. do you! very nice post, best to you mama! xo

    • Heidi says:

      Thanks…
      You’re blog looks so interesting — I’m going to have to browse your crochet projects when I have a free moment. Looks like yummy yarn!!

  6. Pingback: Home School Posts Index | Give Away Seven a Day

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

