Paper by the Pound

Papers

Look out below!!

One of my numerous stacks of paper toppled the other day. That’s my cue to Deal With It. Which usually means sorting, recycling, and getting a healthy start on the newest paper stack.

Not good.

You see, one thing that’s changed for me in this year of giving things away is that I’m now sick of it. I’m sick of toppling paper stacks, of course; but I’m mostly sick of the organizing systems (and lack of such systems) in my home.

It’s not working.

So I didn’t want to (again) just sort paper, knowing the same thing would happen again sooner or later. Usually later, in my case.

And then I remembered this space/mess:

Do you see a solution here?

Cubbies! Above my kitchen desk! They’ve been here since we moved in, six years ago, but I had stopped noticing them. Yes, stopped noticing them, because… they’ve always been full to the point of being unusable. All that stuff you see jammed in there? It’s six years old. And I haven’t missed any of it yet.

So I embarked on a mad paper-sorting mission and ended up with 35 pounds of recycling (yes, I weighed it), the appraisal papers for my wedding ring, the Durable Power of Attorney papers for my parents, and…

a system.

Much better!

Can you believe it? An inbox, and outbox, and space for colored, white, specialty, and used-on-only-one-side printer paper. I love it.

About Heidi

I'm a pastor's wife, striving to live generously. I'm also a homeschooling, gardening, knitting, cooking, reading mom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

