New Knitting Cabinet

Something had to be done with the dining room. It was crowded. We had a mess of ancient sound system stuff… wires everywhere, receiver, CD player, and even a cassette tape player jammed into a cabinet.

Then the speakers started buzzing anytime there was a good bass line, so we had started using other methods for listening to music. (Welcome to the 21st Century, right?)

So I spent a great deal of the day yesterday dismantling everything. Some is still in good enough shape to donate… so I was on my way to the daily goal. 🙂 Got the dust bunnies out, got the very messy CD collection under control (sort of), and had a moment of inspiration. Did you hear it?

Angels sang.

OK, so it was actually my kids having a discussion *ahem* in the next room, but I was inspired. This was to be my new knitting cabinet! This piece of furniture that has been so out of place for so long… this cabinet with a glass door that had only shown off out-of-date equipment… it was time for a transformation!

If only I had taken a ‘before’ photo of the old knitting stash. But you can imagine it. White plastic, three drawers, utilitarian…

[Insert imagination here.]

And now? The glass door shows off a rainbow of yarn. (Yes, heavily weighted toward blue.) Space for my knitting books. And on top… funky pottery with artistically arranged needles. (At least, that’s what I was trying for.)

Now this makes me smile...

I love it! We’re making serious progress around here… getting rid of excess things and finding much better ways to use our space.

About Heidi

I'm a pastor's wife, striving to live generously. I'm also a homeschooling, gardening, knitting, cooking, reading mom.
This entry was posted in simplicity. Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

