G is for Grandparents

It’s ABC’s of homeschooling time again. Perfect, since this week (letter G) we’re spending time with Grandparents. This is an all-too-rare event since we live on opposite sides of the country, so we’re making the most of it.

And we have the photos to prove it.

This is Grandma serving up her REAL macaroni and cheese. Move over, Kraft!

Grandpa loves to get the cousins laughing…

Grandma’s a kid at heart. She’ll happily play trains with the littlest one, even if the floor is a l-o-n-g way down!

We made this visit because our family is going through a rough situation this summer. I don’t need to go into detail here, except to say that prayers are always appreciated. And I’m considering this to be our “Philemon” visit… a time to refresh each other with Christ’s love.



And what better place to be refreshed than in Grandma’s garden, with all its secret nooks?

It’s a great place to read..

To learn… (Did you know what an artichoke looks like when it blooms? Me neither.)

To find beauty around every corner…

And even to gather spicy flowers for supper’s salad!

It’s a blessing to have grandparents who support us in homeschooling. It’s an even bigger blessing to have the flexibility to bring school with us and spend time with them.

“I have derived much joy and comfort from your love… because the hearts of the saints have been refreshed through you.” Philemon 7

About Heidi

I'm a pastor's wife, striving to live generously. I'm also a homeschooling, gardening, knitting, cooking, reading mom.
This entry was posted in Homeschool, lutheran. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to G is for Grandparents

  1. headant says:

    I’m glad that my children have at least one set of grandparents near by. They can learn so much from them!

  2. My grandparents were a blessing to me growing up, and my inlaws are the best most amazing grandparents to my kids! My dad too, but he lives too far away to be involved a lot. I think grammas and grampas are special and I’m so thankful my kids have them!

  3. Stef Layton says:

    hooray for grandparents – another great “g” word !! I was not close with my grandparents – so I pray I will be a better one to my grandkids!!

  4. Sisterlisa says:

    My In-Loves get so excited to help with our homeschooling. They travel in an RV and save all sorts of things to go over with the kids when they come through town. I blogged about it here: http://thehomespunlife.com/?p=35

  5. Naomi says:

    I’ll keep your situation in my prayers!

    Grandparents are blessing; however, ours are as far away as yours. Hopefully, some day we will make our way there.

  6. Pingback: Home School Posts Index | Give Away Seven a Day

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

