H is for Honor

Romans 12:10 “Love one another with brotherly affection. Outdo one another in showing honor.”

Say, that reminds me of a bit of wisdom I just learned from a fellow homeschooling mom. Check out this wall in the dining room of her home:

Loving words

Choose a loving word to say

Imagine the last time you (or your kids) started to bicker or complain to each other. That’s not a pleasant memory in my case. But imagine yourself responding with one of these phrases… wow! What a difference these kind words could make when inevitable squabbles start! I’m absolutely stealing this idea and devoting some precious wall space to it.

Because I want to live in a home:

  • where honoring each other is the norm,
  • where the forgiveness Jesus won for us is what shapes our life together,
  • where conversation leads to servant-like love for each other,
  • where we seek out ways to strengthen each other and build each other up.

How does honor show up in your home? How have you found ways to encourage each other? I’d love to know your ideas! Be sure to check out the other ABC’s of Homeschooling posts at 5 Kids and a Dog this week, too. It’s a week packed with wisdom.

ABCs of Homeschooling

About Heidi

I'm a pastor's wife, striving to live generously. I'm also a homeschooling, gardening, knitting, cooking, reading mom.
This entry was posted in Homeschool. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to H is for Honor

  1. R. Clausen says:

    These honoring words work wonderfully with the hubby too!

  2. Joelle says:

    I love your word. We definitely need this for a smooth and loving homeschooling home and most of all for a God-glorifying home. I was first introduced to this concept through Scott Turansky and Joanne Miller’s books.

  3. Naomi says:

    Honor is a wonderful H word! Fortunately, my kids use more of those phrases that I manage to.

  4. Pingback: Home School Posts Index | Give Away Seven a Day

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

