I is for “I Don’t Know What to Write”


ABCs of Homeschooling

I wanted to publish this three days ago, but I ran into a problem: I don’t know what to write. Serious writer’s block. And I don’t like it.

It’s a personal problem, and temporary, I know. I’ll get over it. But it does bring up a serious homeschooling issue. I’m responsible for teaching my children how to write. I’m willing to do what it takes. I’d even like to help them survive their own episodes of writer’s block. But my oldest daughter is dreaming of a career as a writer and, frankly, I’m intimidated. (There, I said it.)

So I ask you:

Can you help us? What do you do when a big blank sheet of paper is staring you in the face? My daughter’s current coping method is to pace around the house. It makes me batty! It reduces me to begging:

Somebody, please help us!

About Heidi

I'm a pastor's wife, striving to live generously. I'm also a homeschooling, gardening, knitting, cooking, reading mom.
This entry was posted in Homeschool. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to I is for “I Don’t Know What to Write”

  1. Naomi says:

    Look around the house for any object to write about. Just pick an object and let the descriptive juices flow. Walk outside and describe a flower, a bug, the house.

    • Heidi says:

      Thanks, Naomi… this is definitely an idea for ME to use. 🙂 I tend to sit and look at a blank page until I hear my laundry calling. Just starting to write about anything would help.

  2. (Sorry for my delayed comment!) I have a writer in the house, and he has gone through writer’s block from time to time. Depending on her age, you may or may not be able to guide her through for some inspiration. What is she passionate about? What has she done lately that was interesting? The key is to capitalize on her interests, or things that she WANTS to experience. Find those, and you’ve found her writing muse. Also, most aspiring writers are avid readers… is she? Try having her rewrite a story (could be a short one like the Three Little Pigs if she’s young, or a chapter book or novel if she’s older) from a different point of view, or with different problems and outcomes. For example, with fairy tales…. The Princess and the Pea couldn’t sleep; Instead, she could refuse to get up and insist on being waited on. Or Sleeping Beauty as an insomniac, The Three Little Pigs meet the Three Little Kittens, etc. Anything! Find something she enjoys and use that.

    • Heidi says:

      I like the idea of using a different point of view. She tends to create new characters for any book she reads — then imagines how they fit into the original tale. She has a world of characters living in her head!

      Thank you!

  3. Pingback: Home School Posts Index | Give Away Seven a Day

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

