J is for Jesus


ABCs of Homeschooling

Jesus. He is risen indeed!

And that transforms everything, including school.

Educating my children at home has given me plenty of time to observe them. To watch them grow, listen to new things they’ve learned, and to realize that my children know and love Jesus. The never-ending surprise is that much of this change happens in spite of me.

Let me tell you about a couple of times I’ve been surprised by the faith of a child.

The first episode happened when my oldest was a toddler. She was a talkative girl, and kept up a quiet little commentary as she rode in her stroller at a local art show. As we turned a corner, she got suddenly more animated, pointing at a picture and squealing, “Jee-Jee! Jee-Jee! Jee-Jee a-Chrise a-Lo-ahd!” Seriously, you’d have thought she had seen the ice cream truck, she was so excited. But, no… it was a painting of Jesus. Jesus Christ the Lord… someone she knew and obviously loved.

And then there’s the “Wummy Incident”, which happened when my middle daughter was just starting to talk, walk, and use sidewalk chalk without eating it. (It was quite a summer.) She sat contentedly on our garden path, making marks with her chalk until she realized she’d made an ‘X’. That really got her going, and she pointed it out to me saying, “Wummy!” Wummy? Now, I’m pretty good at interpreting toddler-ese, but ‘wummy’ had me stumped for a good long time. I finally figured out that she was talking about a song. She wanted to hear me sing ‘Jesus Loves Me’, also known as ‘Jesus Wummy’. So we sang, and I was once again awestruck by seeing God working in my family.

What a wonderful blessing it is to be in a position to watch my children’s faith develop… to see how the Holy Spirit works in them, creates faith, forms them, and nurtures them. It leaves me with nothing to do or say except: Thank you, Jesus, for always catching me by surprise!

About Heidi

I'm a pastor's wife, striving to live generously. I'm also a homeschooling, gardening, knitting, cooking, reading mom.
This entry was posted in Homeschool, lutheran. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to J is for Jesus

  1. Amanda says:

    I agree! I love being there to watch their faith grow! (public school is good at snuffing out that light!)

    • Heidi says:

      It’s nice to be around when the moments happen. 🙂

      (I just did a little reading of your blog and decided I need to visit again. Lots of good stuff over there!)

  2. Naomi says:

    There is nothing better than seeing your children come closer to Jesus. The “child” joy that they have for Him is so contagious!

  3. How totally adorable! (I’d have been stumped by “wummy” too!) =)

  4. Michelle says:

    It sounds like you’ve had some very sweet moments with your children! The “wummy” would have stumped me, too. But that was a very sweet picture of you singing with your daughter. 🙂

  5. Michelle says:

    I realized after I signed and clicked that my “old” blog address was showing up–pre-HSB switch to all lower caps. I’m correcting it now. 🙂

    • Heidi says:

      🙂 That’s better!

      And now I think I left TWO very similar comments on your own post… seemed like the first one disappeared. (?) I guess you get to approve your favorite version, lol!

  6. Pingback: Home School Posts Index | Give Away Seven a Day

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

