M is for Masterpiece

Have you ever played that classic board game: Masterpiece?

It’s a favorite around here, and for lots of good reasons:

  • It’s dramatic. We each choose a character sketch and get as crazy as we like. (Note to self: costumes are a must next time we play.)
  • It’s a good introduction to many artists.In every game, you’ll see works by Renaissance, Impressionist, and 20th Century artists.
    Irises (1890) by Vincent van Gogh.

    Van Gogh Irises

  • It doesn’t feel “educational”. I always feel cheated by games that are just fancy ways to “do school”. Games are about having fun! In this game, knowing facts about the artists or their works doesn’t give any advantage. But it is a happy side effect!
  • It’s easily expanded. We can learn about new artists anytime by simply adding a set of museum postcards or pictures from catalogs.

Do you use games in your home school? I’m always looking for great game recommendations, so please leave a comment if you have one to share!

Also, be sure to check out the other great ‘M’ posts this week:

ABCs of Homeschooling
About Heidi

I'm a pastor's wife, striving to live generously. I'm also a homeschooling, gardening, knitting, cooking, reading mom.
This entry was posted in Homeschool. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to M is for Masterpiece

  1. Mary says:

    We love games. I am heading to put this one on my wish list right now 🙂

  2. Head Ant says:

    That sounds like a great game! I’m going to have to do some digging.

  3. Amber says:

    Wow, that sounds like a really great game! I’ll have to see if I can find it.. it would go great with our arts studies this year.. Thanks! =)

  4. Martha says:

    I had seen this game and thought it sounded good. I will have to put it on my “When I find a good deal list”.

  5. Pingback: Home School Posts Index | Give Away Seven a Day

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

