The Most Precious Giveaway

My oldest girl is attending an Intensive Acting Workshop this summer. Six hours a day, four weeks, ending in a performance of The Insect Play.

And something big is happening.

I dropped her off one morning, as usual. She hopped out of the car, paused to throw on a fashionable silk jacket over her t-shirt and jeans, and ran off with a quick, “Bye, Mom!”

And she looked like one of Those Theater People.
So poised.
So sure of herself.
So happy.
So certain that her future is going to be great.

Love for Arts

love

And I fell in love like the first time I saw her.

And in the same instant realized it’s all part of her leaving.

That’s not what I had planned when I started my giveaway project. *sniff*

About Heidi

I'm a pastor's wife, striving to live generously. I'm also a homeschooling, gardening, knitting, cooking, reading mom.
This entry was posted in Homeschool, parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Most Precious Giveaway

  1. Kenneth Drees says:

    It seems that our main job as parents is to prepare our children to leave us. One of the chores that our children have is to occasionally test the fences; see just where they are and test their integrity. As parents, it is our job to keep them in good repair and to see that they are continually in the right place. We have to keep moving them outward as the kids move ever-closer to being on their own. It’s a happy sadness with rich rewards.
    Dad

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

