O is for Off (like our TV)


ABCs of Homeschooling

Well, it’s finally happened. My decluttering efforts have affected my home schooling lifestyle. In a good way. See, this year of focused decluttering has changed the way I look at all our possessions. Everything, and I do mean everything, in the house has to prove its worth… or out it goes. (Unless I already have my seven items of the day, of course. Then things are safe. Until tomorrow.)

So there I was one evening, flipping through channels. Finding nothing to watch. Thinking about how much space that television takes up. Thinking about our cable bill. And thinking about how we say reading and family time are our top priorities, but we haven’t been acting that way. And I mentioned it to my husband…

who promptly called to cancel our cable service.

And moved the television (and its huge armoire) to the basement… and moved two large bookcases into the living room. Wow, do I love him. (sigh!)

My days suddenly got longer, and now I have time for:

  1. reading
  2. school (this year)
  3. planning school (for next year)
  4. cooking
  5. entertaining (who knew I’d ever start to enjoy that?)
  6. playing games with some cool kids
  7. talking to my husband about something other than logistics
  8. and, um, other stuff.

One last thing: we made this choice for our family, not yours. I don’t care if you own a TV. I don’t care if you love TV. You can still be my friend, even if you have a favorite TV show. You can even tell me about it. I’ll listen… I love a good story. But I won’t be plugging in again anytime soon.

What do you think? Jealous? Think I’m crazy? Having heart palpitations just thinking about it? Please share a comment!

About Heidi

I'm a pastor's wife, striving to live generously. I'm also a homeschooling, gardening, knitting, cooking, reading mom.
This entry was posted in decluttering, Homeschool, parenting, simplicity and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to O is for Off (like our TV)

  1. We ditched our Satellite service in January and only view things through Netflix now. This limits what the children see and the amount of time spent watching television. It is almost 100% for education purposes now. It’s the best decision we have made in a long time!

    Great post!

    • Heidi says:

      Thanks, Mary! Netflix was part of our original plan. Now, since they’re raising their rates, we’re going to stick to DVDs from the library. We also subscribe to MLB tv, so we can watch most baseball games online. Good to keep our baseball fans happy!

  2. Mediocre Mom says:

    We haven’t had cable for years, and it’s one of the best choices we’ve ever made. We subscribe to Netflix so we can occassionaly snuggle up and watch a family movie. An added bonus, for us, is the complete lack of advertising. I literally NEVER hear my kids asking for the latest whatever. It’s fabulous. Kudos to you!

    • Heidi says:

      I do hear my kids ask about the latest whatever… when they hear other kids talking about it, LOL! Mostly, they don’t care about fads one way or the other. It’s nice.

  3. Ann says:

    Great post! We watch such a limited amount of t.v. that I have seriously considered eliminating satellite t.v. (living in a rural area…there’s no cable t.v.). What little we do watch is educational. There are so many other things to do to fill ones day … both productive and memorable!

  4. Heidi, I envy you your husband. 🙂 We don’t have cable and haven’t in 10 years, but we do have TVs, and our kids still watch too much of it, especially since summer started. I would be very happy without TV. My time waster is the computer, because I’m really not much for TV. I love to read, but if I get started on a good book then my days disappear that way too. :oP In my simplifying and decluttering, I want to eliminate things that don’t get used… so I am trying to talk my hubs into clearing out the basement family room that never gets used and turning it into a library. If we sold the TV coffee table and large couch, I could line a couple walls with bookshelves and we still have the loveseat for sitting. 🙂

  5. Karolyn says:

    When we moved, I declared that the TV would live in the basement and it was probably the best thing we could have done for the house. Honestly, who wants to just skip through channels while keeping an eye out for bugs? Although I will admit that when I’m waiting those last few minutes for the washer to finish and everyone is getting crabby and I need to hide for 5 minutes, it’s nice, dark, quiet, and cool. *smile*

  6. Pingback: Declutter or Die | Cliopatra’s Writings

  7. Pingback: C is for Clutter vs. Calm | Give Away Seven a Day

  8. Although we don’t watch much tv, and the tv we own is about 25 years old (!), I don’t want to say good-bye to it completely. It’s hardly ever on. I guess that’s why it’s lasted so long! Truth is, the computer is much more of a draw for me these days, so that’s what I have to examine, for me. It’s hard to let go of anything we’re used to having. Our microwave broke down a couple of months ago. I was all set to buy another (just because), but friends encouraged me to wait and see how easy it would be to get along without it. They were right. We don’t even miss it, and now I have more counter space! Good luck!

    • Heidi says:

      I was JUST thinking about our microwave… and how I wouldn’t miss it at all. And, yes, the computer is a big draw. I’ll keep it because it can be used for so much good… but it can be hard to be balanced with it!

  9. Pingback: Home School Posts Index | Give Away Seven a Day

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

