P is for Peace Lutheran School


ABCs of Homeschooling
During our first year of home schooling, someone asked me if our school had a name. My thought: “No. Is it supposed to? Did I miss something? Maybe we need a name to really be a school.” My answer: “Um… Peace Lutheran School, because I want a peaceful home. And we’re Lutherans. And we learn things.” Yeah. So that was the long, drawn-out process our school naming committee went through!

But the name stuck, and it makes me realize that peace is still something I crave. I do want a peaceful home. I think most parents do; moms are always joking about wanting some “peace and quiet” or “Me time” or even just a little “for once the kids aren’t fighting”.

That’s not what I’m looking for.

We’re about to begin our ninth year of home schooling, and we’re in the thick of our detailed planning. We’ve researched curriculum, evaluated what would work for each child, set goals. We have a calendar in place, with scheduled school days, review periods, and break times. I love the fresh start of a new school year!

Still, all that planning isn’t quite what I’m getting at, either.

I’ve been deluttering my home this year, at a slow but steady pace. Too much stuff (which we have) doesn’t make for a peaceful, homey feeling. Things are getting better– much better, although nowhere near the rooms that get featured in Real Simple magazine. Now that would be awesome.

But it wouldn’t be enough.

Because there’s always something lurking, ready to break in and shatter whatever peace I create. You hear the news: Norway, Japan, Joplin, Minot, cancer, an accident that leads to the emergency room. I guess the peace I crave needs to be something that will still be there, even through the tough parts.

Something like my pastor giving me Christ’s body and blood; saying, “Take, eat. Take, drink. The peace of the Lord be with you always.”

Amen.

Something like a benediction: “The Lord bless you and keep you. The Lord make His face shine on you and be gracious to you. The Lord look upon you with favor and give you peace.”

Yes.

Something like dear friends who share God’s love during tragedies. People who are living Jesus’ words: “I have said these things to you, that in me you may have peace. In the world you will have tribulation. But take heart; I have overcome the world.” John 16:33

Nothing else will do.

About Heidi

I'm a pastor's wife, striving to live generously. I'm also a homeschooling, gardening, knitting, cooking, reading mom.
This entry was posted in decluttering, Homeschool, lutheran, parenting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to P is for Peace Lutheran School

  1. Head Ant says:

    Peace is what we need most nowadays.

  2. Martha says:

    Hi. I’m visiting from the ABC’s of Homeschooling. I am also a Lutheran homeschooler so the title of your post really caught my eye.

    Martha

  3. Naomi says:

    We’ve not been asked about the name of our school, but I really love the name of yours and how you came to choose it. We definitely need more peace!

  4. Heidi says:

    Thanks for stopping by… and nice to meet a fellow Lutheran, Martha! 😉

  5. Pingback: The Less-Than-Perfect Schoolroom | Give Away Seven a Day

  6. Pingback: Home School Posts Index | Give Away Seven a Day

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

