Single Stream Recycling

Single Stream Recycling… have you heard about this yet? Well, it’s just become my reality. And it is nothing short of:

life-changing.

Everything that can be recycled goes into one bin. Everything. And the list of recyclables is a whopper. A doozy. It includes the usual paper, cardboard, cans, #1 and #2 plastics… but it includes more. A lot more:

  • caps and lids
  • CDs
  • plastics #1-#7
  • rigid plastic (yes, as in, TOYS)
  • styrofoam
  • frozen food containers
  • Tyvek envelopes
  • waxed paper
  • ceramics
  • Pyrex
  • window panes
International Recycle Symbol

Image via Wikipedia

Are you as shocked as I was?? Because until this week, I could put out the basics: cans, jars, bottles. Paper, newspaper, and cardboard had to be separated and brought (by me) to the dump. No fun. Kind of a pain. I was a slacker sometimes. And those things would pile up in my kitchen for an embarrassingly long time, because I didn’t have a system figured out.

And now – oh, joy! My trash can is tiny, since I only need it for my tot’s nightly Pull-Up. My compost bin is thriving. And the recycling is out of my kitchen, out the door, and on to new life.

About Heidi

I'm a pastor's wife, striving to live generously. I'm also a homeschooling, gardening, knitting, cooking, reading mom.
This entry was posted in decluttering, simplicity and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Single Stream Recycling

  1. Ellen says:

    That’s the way ours has been for years. LOVE IT!!!!!

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

