W is for Walking (Whatever the Weather)

We have a new family fitness program to go with our new school year. The spark that started it was provided by my dear husband. Included in this fitness program is a vigorous, daily family walk. If you know me and my feelings about exercise, you know this is filling in a major gap in the scope of my teaching.

So, in spite of my feelings (I don’t want to go) at the beginning of every walk, we set out. This is what I’m silently thinking:

Whether the weather be fine,
Or whether the weather be not,
Whether the weather be cold,
Or whether the weather be hot,
We’ll weather the weather
Whatever the weather,
Whether we like it or not!

Truly, whatever the weather! As you can see in this photo, rain can’t stop this crazy walking family. And we’ve had a lot of rain here lately. (Thank you, Hurricane Irene.) In fact, on our last walk, many of the paths had flowing water running down them. It was a great soggy adventure!

I can only hope my feelings about exercising will change with time. But until then, there are some aspects of walking that keep me pushing on.

Things like a well-blazed trail. Because I despise the thought of being lost.

Things like finding another of New England‘s ubiquitous stone walls. I heart them!

Or this view, after a climb I thought was impossible for my old knees.

Or my favorite view of all… a wonderful daddy with his wonderful little girl. Hmm… I should frame that one. Now there’s good motivation to get out and walk!

Grab my Button! Check out this week’s posts at 5 Kids and a Dog. (If you search around the site, you may even find more encouragement to get fit!)

About Heidi

I'm a pastor's wife, striving to live generously. I'm also a homeschooling, gardening, knitting, cooking, reading mom.
This entry was posted in Homeschool, parenting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to W is for Walking (Whatever the Weather)

  1. I enjoyed your post today…. nice picture of daddy and his little girl, too! 🙂

  2. Marcia says:

    I heart the picture of daddy and his little girl and you should indeed frame it!

  3. Good for you, getting outdoors to walk. My post from the ABC’s talks about the value of outdoor time. You can find the link here http://craftycristy.blogspot.com/2011/09/x-is-in-experiencing-nature.html

  4. Oh that is one thing that we all enjoy doing, and haven’t done in a very long time! Okay Heidi, you’ve reminded me. Tomorrow the boys and I are going on a walk! The dogs will be happy about it too! 🙂

  5. Amber says:

    I’m not there yet! The idea sounds nice.. but I’m not that committed to getting out and walking all the time. I like a nice liesurely stroll in nice weather. Maybe I’ll get there someday? Who knows what God has in store for me. =p
    Your pictures are very pretty, I love the scenery! It’s my favorite part (when I do go out for a walk.)

  6. Tricia says:

    I love, love a family walk! Much rather do that than any other form of exercise. Especially in the fall, kicking up leaves. I adore that last photo. You should indeed frame it!

    I’ve tagged you in a fun homeschool meme over at Hodgepodge: http://www.hodgepodge.me/2011/09/homeschool-meme-weekly-wrap/

  7. Pingback: Home School Posts Index | Give Away Seven a Day

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

