That’s not clutter; that’s a CLOG!

The plan: a series of posts about decluttering, featuring before and after shots.

Nah… How ’bout I tell you the story of today’s unexpected little plumbing project instead? The story actually involves homeschooling and decluttering, as well as plumbing. So, my dear reading friend, looks like you’ve hit the story jackpot!

My two youngest daughters are on a rock collecting/sorting/identifying kick for science this week. I was so proud when the Middle One came home from the library with a stack of books to help her identify the rocks in her collection. Little did I know, you must wash your rocks first. In the bathroom sink.

That was yesterday.

This morning I noticed that the drain stopper was sitting up a bit higher than usual. Why? There was a rock stuck in the drain. (Sorry for the ick factor here… I promise there won’t be any more unpleasant photos.)

We tried a skewer… couldn’t get under the rock. We tried chopsticks… couldn’t open them wide enough. The older daughters even tried drying the rock with a hair dryer, then pulling it out with duct tape… nope.

So I called my dad, of course. He suggested removing the trap and pushing the rock up from below. Which involves some decluttering. See what it looked like under that sink?

Time for some re-organizing. But first, let’s get to that plumbing…

Ready for a lesson? You know this, of course, but it’s VERY important to turn off the water before working below a pipe. See these knobs under the sink? Just give them a clockwise turn and you should be good to go. (I took the extra precaution of checking my work by trying to run water. It’s the teacher in me.)

Now get a bucket to catch drips. You’ll be glad you did. Because now it’s time to remove the trap… that U-shaped pipe.

It’s easy as pie, but much yuckier. Just turn the bolts to loosen it, and let the water drain into your bucket. Then remove the trap and open the window. Because if you’re like me, you’ll be wanting some fresh air right about now. To combat the evil that lurks inside that pipe. Eew.

Now it’s time to fix that clog. I was back to the skewer, this time pushing the rock up. Turns out there were two rocks in there… good buddies! It took a while, but eventually my Dearly Beloved was able to tip them sideways and they dropped down into the cabinet. Kerplink, kerplunk! 

I re-installed the trap; there was a great deal of disinfecting done; and then came the reorganizing. I found a few expired medications that can be dropped off at out police station. (Love that.)

After that, things look pretty good again.

I have a decluttered cabinet and a decluttered drain! Not bad for a day’s work.

About Heidi

I'm a pastor's wife, striving to live generously. I'm also a homeschooling, gardening, knitting, cooking, reading mom.
This entry was posted in decluttering, parenting, simplicity and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

