Homeschooling Resources

A couple of weeks ago, Tricia at Hodgepodge invited me to participate in a fun homeschooling resources meme. (Don’t worry, Mom. You won’t need to know what a ‘meme’ is to enjoy this post!) After you read my thoughts here, you’ll definitely want to hop on over to Tricia’s site and spend the day reading more. She’s a wealth of information, fun, and inspiration!

Let’s get started…

1. One homeschooling book you have enjoyed. Luther’s Small Catechism isn’t exactly a homeschooling book, but it is my foundation. Luther’s words remind me of who I am as a wife, mother, and teacher — in Christ. Here’s my most-loved section: “I believe that Jesus Christ my Lord… has redeemed me, a lost and condemned person, purchased and won me from all sins, from death, and from the power of the devil; not with gold or silver, but with His holy, precious blood and with His innocent suffering and death, that I may be His own…” I haven’t found a homeschooling book yet that brings me more assurance than those words.
2. One resource you wouldn’t be without. Our local library. My relationship with the library has been a roller coaster of fun children’s programs, late fees, friendships, and frustrations. I’ve had numerous experiences with misplaced books, both my fault and library staff’s fault; but I can never resist the pull of free books!
3. One resource you wish you had never bought. Oops, Your Manners are Showing! It sounded like a good idea at the time, since we were having some problems with children interrupting adult conversations. But once the books arrived, I found myself not wanting to add another subject area to our school day, and not wanting to treat manners as an academic issue. Instead, we stepped up our parenting in that area by giving our kids more direction about what to do; lavished them with forgiveness when they slipped; and waited for them to grow up a bit more. (It worked. Mostly.)
4. One resource you enjoyed last year. Math-U-See. I love this math curriculum! It works well for my older, self-directed children. And, let’s be honest, it works well for me. It’s been a long time since high school algebra, and it’s nice to have a math program that helps me refresh my memory quickly.
5. One resource you will be using next (this) year. Getting Started with Latin. Speaking of math, back when I was a senior in high school, I begged to drop my math class and take a Latin correspondence course instead. It didn’t happen. But now, twenty-four years later, I’m finally learning Latin with my 5th grader. We’re taking it slowly, one word a day. So far we can proudly inform you that we are NOT sailors or farmers. (Tomorrow we’ll be able to say that neither are you.)
6. One resource you would like to buy. Our church needs a new playground. Since we live on the church property, I’d love to purchase new equipment that could inspire imaginative play and fitness training for ALL ages.
7. One resource you wish existed.  The Magic School Bus. Wouldn’t it be fun to join Ms. Frizzle with her gadget-laden bus on an adventure through the human body? Or the solar system? Or a beehive? Really, I need to get me one of those buses.
8. One home school catalog you enjoy reading. I always look forward to the new Rainbow Resource Catalog and spend hours browsing. The history and literature sections always give my highlighter a workout! This year, the Veritas Press catalog was our source for high school and upper elementary level history and language arts books, as well as art and music books for the whole family. We’re extremely happy with our choices so far. Veritas could well be my favorite catalog next summer!
9. One homeschooling website you use regularly. One? Well, if I must stick with one, I’ll have to say Pinterest, because it leads me to Hodgepodge, Homeschool Creations, Confessions of a Homeschooler and many more encouraging sites and resources.
10. Tag other homeschoolers. You’re it! I’d love to hear what you’re using this year.

Mary @Homegrown Learners

Amanda @ThePelsers

Rebecca @Mom’s Mustard Seeds

Amber @ A Classic Housewife

Cristy @CraftyCristy

About Heidi

I'm a pastor's wife, striving to live generously. I'm also a homeschooling, gardening, knitting, cooking, reading mom.
This entry was posted in Homeschool, lutheran, parenting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Homeschooling Resources

  1. Tricia says:

    Oh I had the best time visiting here in your homeschool! I love your live and learn and learn some more attitude. I totally agree about Ms Frizzle. When you get your bus can we come along too? And amen Luther! Thanks Heidi for joining the fun. ~Tricia

  2. Mary says:

    Martin Luther was an amazing theologian and he is a favorite of mine, too. (I am Lutheran, by the way). I loved reading your list…now I will try to get around to posting my own! Thanks for tagging me!

  3. Heidi, Thank you so much for tagging me! I will work on it and post it later today. I’ll send you the link when I get done. 🙂

  4. I love the idea of wishing that Ms. Frizzle’s bus existed. I wish I could have used that one. lol Here’s my post about this. Is there somewhere I need to link to besides your post?

  5. Heidi, I wanted to post you a link to my blog friend Layla’s post for this. Her Flat (Tire)d Homeschool entry was so funny that I laughed out loud the entire way through it. http://flattiredhomeschool.blogspot.com/2011/10/homeschool-memeor-my-modleing-portfolio.html

  6. Pingback: Home School Posts Index | Give Away Seven a Day

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

