Dying; Baby Isaiah

If you haven’t read my first post on this topic yet, you’ll find it here.

We were so excited to find out we were having twins. We were all ready to get a double stroller and a special magazine subscription. (Did you know there’s a magazine just for parents of twins?) We had almost decided on our answer to the all-important question of whether or not they should be dressed alike.

It was early when I first felt them move – a mere eleven weeks along. I still feel blessed to have that memory.

There was the ultra ultrasound at 18 weeks. That’s when we found out we had a boy and a girl… and all was well.

We celebrated Christmas with a visit from my parents, my brother and his wife, and our brand-new nephew.

And the next day… 19 weeks, 1 day… little Isaiah was quietly born. There was an ambulance ride and a week-long blur of magnesium sulfate stupor. (It stops contractions, along with nearly every other bodily function. Imagine veins filled with cement, and you’ll have a pretty good idea of the slow, heavy sensation. I don’t recommend it.)

The doctors said our little girl had a 15% chance of survival, and that my risk of infection was extremely high. They recommended ending her life, too. We chose to fight for her no matter what happened. (What happened was a long four months of complete bedrest.) That’s why, eleven years later, we have a sweet, tough, sociable daughter who adds a spark to every day.

Her brother was tiny. He weighed just 9 ounces and was 9 inches long. And I promised myself that his little life would make a difference to as many people as possible. That’s why, eleven years later, I’m finally telling his story. Thank you for reading it!

Lamb by marsha, on Pix-O-SphereI am Jesus’ little lamb,
Ever glad at heart I am;
For my Shepherd gently guides me,
Knows my need and well provides me,
Loves me ev’ry day the same,
Even calls me by my name.

Day by day, at home, away,
Jesus is my staff and stay.
When I hunger, Jesus feeds me,
Into pleasant pastures leads me;
When I thirst, He bids me go
Where the quiet waters flow.

Who so happy as I am,
Even now the Shepherd’s lamb?
And when my short life is ended,
By His angel host attended,
He shall fold me to His breast,
There within His arms to rest.

About Heidi

I'm a pastor's wife, striving to live generously. I'm also a homeschooling, gardening, knitting, cooking, reading mom.
This entry was posted in Christ, parenting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Dying; Baby Isaiah

  1. Jodi says:

    Thank-you, Heidi. I vaguely remember the details since it was before we got reconnected. So inspirational to hear stories about families who choose life over convenience. Miracles abound yet today! God bless.

  2. Robin says:

    Thanks for sharing your story. I was also pregnant with twins and miscarried one at 5 months….My baby boy will be 11 in January. Being the baby of the family (4 older brothers), he is slightly spoiled. I’m sorry for your loss. I’m sorry for the pain you have been through.

  3. deedee beynon says:

    thanks for sharing. hope it continues your healing. i remember that happening just before i met you here at our saviours.

  4. R. Clausen says:

    My dearest nephew Isaiah, the Holy Spirit moves mountains as your love message is used as ministry! Love you!

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

