Happy Peanut-Allergy Mom

About 3 1/2 years ago, we learned that our youngest daughter is allergic to peanuts. She was still nursing at the time, so I stopped eating peanuts.

Then she grew into a toddler who stuffed anything into her mouth, so the whole family stopped eating peanuts. In solidarity, we became a nut-free family. (But we’re all a little nuts.)

It’s been ok, since the initial withdrawal period, except for one thing…

ButterfingersButterfingers. Oh, how I miss them. Stealing Halloween candy from my children just isn’t the same when I’m limited to nut-free options. It’s not even worth the effort if I can’t have my Butterfingers.

But now, thanks to the lovely internet, I’ve stumbled upon a recipe for homemade butterfingers. Homemade! That means I can substitute SunButter for the peanut butter… joy of joys.

We tried it today. You should, too.

It’s kid-tested. Kid-approved. Kid-with-peanut-allergy-approved. And, most importantly: MOM-approved!

About Heidi

I'm a pastor's wife, striving to live generously. I'm also a homeschooling, gardening, knitting, cooking, reading mom.
This entry was posted in allergies, parenting, recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happy Peanut-Allergy Mom

  1. amyleebell says:

    How about that? Candy corn! No wonder I love Butterfingers so much!!

  2. Layla Payton says:

    Hi! I just popped in to say that YOU were the bookmark winner!!! Please email me your address, so I can have Elizabeth send it to you. Make sure to let me know if you would like a custom design, or a “surprise” inspirational design. 🙂

    layla@paytonlink.com

    P.S. I am allergic to chocolate, wheat, AND peanuts. Yeah…try to get your candy fix with that one. 😉

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

