G is for Growing Up

My ten-year old said, “Mom, I think I talk to you more than a lot of kids my age talk to their families. And I like it that way.”

My four-year old was just born, exactly one blink ago.

My fourteen year old will be in college in a blink.

And I thought about the three of them as I heard this song by Steven Curtis Chapman on the radio:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nrWMBC6yoME

The days are short and absolutely flying past. I’m so thankful to be here, watching them grow up. I have been truly blessed.

Link up to the ABC's

About Heidi

I'm a pastor's wife, striving to live generously. I'm also a homeschooling, gardening, knitting, cooking, reading mom.
This entry was posted in Homeschool, music, parenting and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to G is for Growing Up

  1. Oh man, you like wrote my heart right now. I feel like my babies are growing to fast.
    Just stopping by from ABC’s of Homeschooling.

    Lil’ Momma
    Living with a hard working husband, 1 toddler, 1 preschooler and 1 middle schooler who are Five in Training for HIM

    • Heidi says:

      You know, I really enjoy each age and stage they go through. I’ve never wished they would stay little forever. But this song makes me realize that their time at home really will end. I suppose I’ll be as ready as possible when it finally happens, but YIKES! I’ll be praying lots of tears then!

  2. Tricia says:

    I love this. And I can lock arms with you right where you are. Same ages almost (except 9 instead of 10). And I cannot listen to that song because it makes me weep. Really. I have to turn the station when it comes on the radio! It’s a beautiful song.

    • Heidi says:

      Me, too.

      Can. Not. Listen.

      In fact, I’ve only heard the entire song once. It turned me into a sobbing, blubbering mess; and at the same time, made me realize again how very much I love my husband and girls.

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

