No Condemnation

thinking.. by monica_june, on Pix-O-SphereAfter a year of decluttering, I’m frustrated.

Not with my house… it’s getting better all the time. I’m frustrated with myself. See, I have an idea of what life should look like:

  • I would never forget my purse.
  • I’d spend the right amount of time with each of my children.
  • I would know exactly what was in my pantry.
  • I would dress fashionably. Always. (Kids, too.)
  • I would never get irritated with my husband. Or children. Or friends.
  • And I wouldn’t irritate them.
  • I would always cook from scratch and never get complaints from children.
  • I’d always be caught up on laundry. And vacuuming. And dusting.

And that’s just the superficial stuff. Somehow I would also manage to be patient, kind, emotionally pulled-together, blah, blah, blah.

I am not that list.

So I’m frustrated with myself and my inability to do it all. But the solution isn’t trying harder… or I’d be less frustrated than I was a year ago. The problem isn’t the list, or how capable I am… the problem is really that I act like that list matters. At all. To anyone.

I can’t make a list that matters… what matters is what God has done and is doing for me in Christ. Here’s His list from Romans, chapter 8:

  • There is therefore now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus.
  • The law of the Spirit of life has set you free in Christ Jesus.
  • To set the mind on the Spirit is life and peace.
  • He who raised Christ Jesus from the dead will also give life to your mortal bodies.

Now that’s a list that deserves my attention. There’s more, of course… check out the rest of Romans 8. I’m working at memorizing it, because I need a steady diet of this stuff. It’s just too easy for me to fall into the trap of always trying harder. Life and peace is so much better than trying, don’t you think?

About Heidi

I'm a pastor's wife, striving to live generously. I'm also a homeschooling, gardening, knitting, cooking, reading mom.
This entry was posted in decluttering, simplicity. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to No Condemnation

  1. joyceandnorm says:

    Stopping by from the link-up

    You are totally right. Somehow, when I really look at what God has in store for us, that other list doesn’t seem to matter so much. Thank you for sharing your thoughts. Press on in memorizing Romans 8.

  2. “So I’m frustrated with myself and my inability to do it all.”

    I’m here with you, Heidi!

    So thankful that we are “not that list!”

    Thanks for sharing your heart, and for linking up!

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

