I is for Instruments

Christmas Pinecone by marsha, on Pix-O-SphereMusic is always a big deal for us, for school, fun, and worship. But at this time of year, there’s an extra boost of music happening at our house:

  • We love to listen to Christmas carols.
  • Everyone sings.
  • Everyone plays the piano.
  • Our oldest daughter plays violin;
  • Middle daughter has just started playing flute;
  • and youngest daughter loves her glockenspiel and shaky eggs.

vertical bw paino keys by sisterlisa, on Pix-O-Sphere
Usually we work on solo pieces; or I accompany someone singing or playing another instrument. However, tonight there was a musical miracle. It involved two girls, a violin, a flute, and the awesome acoustics of our basement. It sounded like:

Joy to the World!

It’s a dream come true. (And, even better, they’ll be ready to play for our Christmas program at church!)

I’m so glad our girls are learning to make music together. This is one happy mom!

Link up to the ABC's

About Heidi

I'm a pastor's wife, striving to live generously. I'm also a homeschooling, gardening, knitting, cooking, reading mom.
This entry was posted in Homeschool, music and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I is for Instruments

  1. That sounds so fun! I love to put on the Trans-Siberian Orchestra, but that’s really the extent of MY (personal) Christmas music enjoyment. My boys love Christmas music, and so we do frequently have something playing and the boys sing the annoying songs (Jingle Bells, etc) just to get to me but it’s all in good fun! 🙂 We love music around here!

  2. We’ve had a lot of music around here, too. My kids don’t play instruments (yet – I’ve started teaching them a little bit about piano) but they can read and sing. So what happens around here is that the kids either go to youtube and play video after video of Christmas song after Christmas (with lyrics on the screen) practicing and memorizing the songs,.. or they put on the pandora Christmas music station I’ve created and they dance around the living room while singing.
    I think it would be so much fun to have everyone in the family playing instruments. And I have thought about having the kids practice singing a song to sing at our family gathering on Christmas Day, I haven’t decided yet. =)
    Have a great weekend! (Here from Dawn’s linky!)

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

