Christmas Ornaments are Not Clutter

I’ve sorted through a lot of things this year. Gotten rid of carloads of clutter. I’m a decorating minimalist. Don’t even have curtains on most of my windows yet, after living here for over six years. I don’t do knick-knacks.

My Christmas ornament collection, however, will never be thinned out. Never. It grows exponentially each year. In fact, this time when I take down the tree, I’m going to count the ornaments. There must be thousands.

But I won’t find any to send to the thrift shop.

How could I? There’s our First Christmas Together ornament, the First Christmas in our new home, First Christmases for three little girls and one very little boy. This is a tree filled with memories.

We have ornaments from travels, from special people, and from wonderful congregations. This tree tells our journey.

There are ornaments celebrating family and childhood, including my favorite of all time:

I chose it as a special gift from my babysitter’s tree when I was just two years old. Now it’s one among many, many nativity ornaments. This is a tree that shouts the message: “Jesus is born!”

Do you have a favorite Christmas decoration? I’d love to hear about it!

 

About Heidi

I'm a pastor's wife, striving to live generously. I'm also a homeschooling, gardening, knitting, cooking, reading mom.
This entry was posted in simplicity and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Christmas Ornaments are Not Clutter

  1. Two years ago I did finally thin out our Christmas decorations. By like 70%. We had so many hand me down decorations, ugly ornaments, and everything was so mismatched. I kept the family ornaments, and some sentimental ones. I got rid of some really hokey table decorations and thinned down to what we can actually use. I will pick up some new ones after Christmas, allowing the kids to choose what they like that goes with the look we’re going for. It all fits into two large Rubbermaid tubs so as long as we can store it, I’m happy! lol

    • Heidi says:

      I’ve thinned a lot of the decorations that don’t go on the tree. Most rooms don’t get much beyond a candle or something small like that. But I’m not ready to get rid of the tree things yet… they all still make me so happy! (And the storage is still manageable, like yours!)

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

