Four Steps to New Year’s Resolution Success

bedroom clock by sisterlisa, on Pix-O-SphereThis year, for the first time ever, I made a New Year’s resolution… and kept it. I resolved to give away seven things each day this year, and I actually did it. So now I feel qualified to offer the following resolutionary advice. (That new word… resolutionary? It’s a bonus. My gift to you.)

1. Know what bothers you. What gets in your way? Inconveniences you? Makes your life something other than what you want? For me, that was owning too much. Too many things didn’t have a place to be put away, and that got in the way of cleaning routines.

2. Choose to “do the opposite”. If something isn’t working, you’ll have to change what you’re already doing. This became the year I learned to get rid of things instead of keeping for “someday”.

3. Do something every day. You know the joke: How do you eat an elephant? One bite at a time! Personally, I prefer little bites… it’s much easier for me to say good-bye to seven outgrown baby shirts than to tackle the entire attic in a day. The key is to make it something you can do every day.

4. Be nice to yourself! Doing little things doesn’t feel like it will make a big difference; but multiply that little thing by 366 days, and you have One Powerful Year of change for the better.

What about you? Are you planning any New Year’s resolutions this time around? I’d love to hear about them!

(Me… I have my eyes set on the attic. One bite at a time.)

About Heidi

I'm a pastor's wife, striving to live generously. I'm also a homeschooling, gardening, knitting, cooking, reading mom.
This entry was posted in decluttering, simplicity and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

