Keep it Simple Decluttering

I’ve been thinking about a new resolution for this year. Something amazing. Something that will have a huge impact. Something that will be a great follow-up to last year’s blog-inducing resolution. But what’s a gal to do after a year of giving stuff away? How can I possibly top that? (I know you’ve been wondering…)

English: Question Mark

Image via Wikipedia

Well, my house is so much happier, I think I’ll simply keep it up. Yes, one MORE year of seven things out each day. There will be one improvement to my method this year, though: I’m adding one trip to the attic to my daily routine. 

There are still places in our house that aren’t working well, mainly because I procrastinate on making trips to and from the attic. It even has real stairs, but I’m too lazy to use them regularly. So, yes, Christmas decorations are still out; kids’ toys that should be swapped out are still downstairs; and things that should be donated are languishing up there.

I’m ready to change all that. But I’ll stick with my tried-and-true method and stop looking for bigger and better.

How are your decluttering efforts going?

About Heidi

I'm a pastor's wife, striving to live generously. I'm also a homeschooling, gardening, knitting, cooking, reading mom.
This entry was posted in decluttering, simplicity. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Keep it Simple Decluttering

  1. amyleebell says:

    Wow! A whole year of giving away seven things everyday. I’ve seen your blog title many times, but I never thought about what it meant. We majorly decluttered back in September/October, and little bits here and there since then. Do you find that getting rid of stuff makes you weigh your new purchases more accurately? I do. Sometimes I walk through Wal-Mart and just look at all the stuff that serves absolutely no purpose whatsoever. I wonder why I have been drawn to making silly purchases so often? Most things I have bought have been used once or twice; some of them – never!

  2. Heidi, amyleebell said that she had seen your blog title and never thought about what it meant. For awhile I thought it meant you were doing lots of those online “chance to win” things. lol. Then I read one of your posts about de cluttering. Oh. (Felt a little dumb after that.)

    Love your blog.

  3. Heidi says:

    Oh, my… please don’t feel dumb! I named my blog because of my decluttering project, but had NO idea what blogging was even about at the time. It wasn’t until a couple months later that I realized how my title really gives a wrong impression. (So now *I* feel a little dumb.) I’ve NEVER hosted a giveaway, and don’t imagine one anytime soon, lol! I’m thinking about renaming the blog, but that seems kind of messy, and I don’t know what else I would call it anyway.

    Goofy. But I’m so glad you guys read and enjoy… and comment. You make my life fun!

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

