Greens, Greens, Nothing But Greens!

Community Supported Agriculture – it’s a good thing

Our family subscribes to an annual share of produce from Stone Gardens Farm. Each week, we receive a box overflowing with vegetables straight from the farm. It’s an adventure to see what each week will bring; and we’ve learned to recognize and enjoy an amazing variety of produce.

We love our farm! I can’t recommend the CSA model highly enough. Do yourself a favor and search the internet for a CSA in your zip code.

But sometimes it’s overwhelming

Seriously.  A box full of kale, green leaf lettuce, red leaf lettuce, red deer tongue lettuce, escarole, spring mix salad, Asian braising greens, beet greens, salad turnips (with greens), radishes (with greens), kohlrabi (with greens), and Swiss chard is a challenge.

Who knows what these things even ARE?

What are you supposed to do with them?

And most importantly, how can you convince your kids to try them??

Weekly Get-through-your-box Tip:

Never fear. After two summers with our CSA, I’ve developed some strategies; and I’m happy to share. This week’s plan is… pesto!

It’s a plan, not a recipe, so you’ll have to experiment to find your favorite ratios. Typical pesto has basil, pine nuts, parmesan cheese, and olive oil. You, with your abundant box of greens, are free to try any combinations of:

  • nuts or seeds (We use pumpkin or sunflower seeds, since our youngest has a nut allergy.)
  • herbs (sage, basil, parsley are all good)
  • greens (ANY)
  • olive oil
  • cheese and garlic are optional… see what you like
I use a small food processor. First, finely grind the seeds or nuts. Then add herbs and greens… prepare to be amazed by the vast quantity of greens you can process in just one batch! Process until it forms a paste, adding olive oil as necessary for consistency. Taste and add garlic, parmesan, or salt if needed.

My latest batch had Asian greens, escarole, a few herbs from my garden, and pumpkin seeds… delicious! We’ll probably toss it with some pasta for an alternative to mac & cheese.

Hey, Heidi, why haven’t you written a blog post for so long?

Thanks for asking. Life has happened… family visits, theater, travel, a funeral, and more to come soon. I have much to tell.

But for now, let’s get to those greens.

About Heidi

I'm a pastor's wife, striving to live generously. I'm also a homeschooling, gardening, knitting, cooking, reading mom.
This entry was posted in CSA, generosity, recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Greens, Greens, Nothing But Greens!

  1. Tammy says:

    Sounds like you have the pesto plan down pretty well. I love how fast it is and constantly have a batch to top fish or pasta or ?

  2. inherchucks says:

    great idea!

    I host a weekly CSA link party and would love for you to be a part of it. Come and check it out and add this link…http://inherchucks.com/2012/06/14/whats-in-the-box-30/.

  3. I made pesto recently with oregano and I simply love the flavor of it. I am glad to see you posting again.

    • Heidi says:

      Yummy! I’ll have to try it… my oregano is taking over the yard. 🙂

      It’s nice to be posting again. Glad you’re still reading, Cristy. I’ve missed my bloggy friends!

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

