7 Months to Chaos

How long does it take to get from Nearly Decluttered to Complete Chaos? Well, my curious friends, wonder no longer.

It takes seven months.

And it happened to my house. It’s definitely time to get back to the Give Away Seven a Day routine. But first, a good healthy dose of humble pie. Read on for my recipe:

First, stop decluttering because obviously a year is long enough for such a habit.
Next, travel several times during the summer. If your kids can be involved in various camps at the same time, that’s helpful. Long trips aren’t necessary.Anything to break up your normal routine will do.
Now, have a thunderstorm that knocks out your power. This will result in the death of your refrigerator, further dashing your hopes for establishing daily habits.
Before the fridge is replaced, be involved in a week of Vacation Bible School. Be very involved. Let the house go… in fact, if your dining room rug could be moved to the church for decoration, even better.
Finally, prepare for a week-long family camping trip two days after VBS.
But wait! Wouldn’t this be a good time to have the house painted??

Yes, friends. That was my ultimate embarrassment: to show my extreme mess to the world’s nicest painter. Ugh. I was stressed out, as you can imagine, and now I’m recommitting to getting rid of ALL of my clutter.

Care to join me? I know from experience that it’s better than chaos.

About Heidi

I'm a pastor's wife, striving to live generously. I'm also a homeschooling, gardening, knitting, cooking, reading mom.
This entry was posted in decluttering, simplicity. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 7 Months to Chaos

  1. Cathy Spicer says:

    I’m joining you!! E and I are finally ready to tackle the chaos of our home. Seriously, we are one cardboard box away from an episode of hoarders. We moved into our home with dreams of organized bliss (well I did). Then life happened. E out of work for over a year with medical issues and no income, absorbing piles of stuff after mom moved to an apartment, 2 years of every weekend spent traveling to spend with mom during her cancer battle, 1.5 years of emotional chaos trying to deal with relative drama after mom’s death, and now just working 3 jobs to pay for resulting medical bills (from the initial kick off through today). Needless to say, home organizing, let alone cleaning, never gets to the top of the list. The good news is that the drama is down to a simmer and health issues for E and I are on track. A dumpster is scheduled to arrive in the driveway Friday and the goal is to FILL it (probably more than once). We’re starting in the basement and working up. The plan is to clear out the basement so it can be our staging area (I’m sure the neighbors will appreciate that instead of using the yard in Peter Walsh Clean Sweep style). I havne’t decided if this adventure will be Facebook worthy, but I’m sure it will generate a few interesting C and E conversations! LOL

    • Heidi says:

      It’s easy for the house to take a back seat to “life”… and life has thrown a lot at you lately! I read about your organizing progress (on facebook), and I think we need to stick together. Mutual inspiration!

  2. Tammy says:

    That made me laugh as I can definitely relate!

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

