Veggie Meets Dip, Child Falls in Love

Veggies and dip: it’s the perfect appetizer. It’s the perfect match for the excellent produce of high summer. It’s also a great way to help kids enjoy eating vegetables.

vegetables by sisterlisa, on Pix-O-Sphere

Here’s how we love to make a quick, inexpensive, tasty dip:

Take mayo, sour cream, plain yogurt, or a combination of those. Add herbs and spices until it tastes good. (Obviously, I’m a Super Chef.)
Green Beans by lady_jess, on Pix-O-Sphere

Really, the possibilities are endless, so let your kids decide what they love best. We’re on a curry kick at the moment… especially delicious with carrots or cabbage.

carrots1 by lady_jess, on Pix-O-Sphere

Try it yourself! I’d love to hear the delicious combos you discover, so please leave a comment!

About Heidi

I'm a pastor's wife, striving to live generously. I'm also a homeschooling, gardening, knitting, cooking, reading mom.
This entry was posted in CSA, food, simplicity. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Veggie Meets Dip, Child Falls in Love

  1. Kim says:

    Yum! (Running to get my cukes out of the fridge right now!) Although the cookies I was gonna make are still calling me…

  2. Jodi says:

    1/2 light mayo and 1/2 greek yogurt (for the protein!) with garlic powder and onion powder. OR…even better…fresh squeezed garlic cloves and green onions instead of powder!

    • Heidi says:

      That’s what I was planning for our next experiment. You have good taste. 🙂 We’ll probably use chives from the garden, instead of green onions.

  3. Tammy says:

    I put raw cashews into the vitamix with a little olive oil and garlic cloves. It’s amazing.

  4. inherchucks says:

    My spinach dip is great for dipping veggies…http://inherchucks.com/2012/03/16/spinach-dip/.

    But you dip sounds delicious! I can’t wait to try it 🙂

I'd love to hear your thoughts!